skip to Main Content

OTC chapter of Phi Theta Kappa earns eight international awards

Representatives from Ozarks Technical Community College’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, recently returned from the organization’s annual International Convention with eight awards in hand.  Held in Seattle, Wash., this year’s convention drew more than 1,200 Phi Theta Kappa chapters from around the world.

The honors received included the Distinguished Chapter Member award, for Kalee Mitchell, and the Distinguished Officer Team award, presented to President Chris White and Vice Presidents Dana Johnston, Kyle Vest, Keith Crisman and Jake Lamkins.  Additionally, two Phi Theta Kappa advisors were honored:  Early Childhood Education Department Chair Jo Fritts received the Continued Excellence in Advising award, and Coordinator of Advisor Training and Development Steve Fritts moved into the position of Vice Chair for the Association of Chapter Advisors.

OTC’s chapter as a whole received the following awards: Distinguished Honors in Action Project, Distinguished College Project, Distinguished Honors in Action Issue, Beta Alpha Continued Excellence Award (an award presented to chapters which are designated Distinguished Chapter for three consecutive years), and 4th runner-up for Most Distinguished Chapter.

Also at the convention, Steve and Jo Fritts facilitated and taught at the International Honors in Action Academy.  They also presented breakout educational forms on Honors in Action and the Mosal Award Application Process.

Phi Theta Kappa honors students who have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher, and places its emphasis on leadership, service, scholarship and fellowship.  Ozarks Technical Community College’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members twice each year.


Mark Miller

College Director of Communication

Phone: 417.447.2655


Laura French

Coordinator of Public Information

Phone: 417.447.2659


Back To Top